It’s Friday, and I’m Beet!

20120629-203303.jpg

You read that right. Beet. As in those strange red bulbs your mom always said were so packed with nutrients but that you still refused to try unless force fed.

My mother emailed me yesterday and told me how she had started juicing to help relieve arthritis pain and to discover more of the supposed positive side effects of a juicing lifestyle.

I was inspired. Thanks, Mom!

The Beet That Started It All!

Last night, while the family ate my famous homemade spaghetti, I took out the juicer. My hearty dinner consisted of the following:

1) 4 medium-sized organic carrots (unpeeled)
2) 2 bunched up handfuls (fists) of baby spinach (about 3 cups)
3) and 1/2 medium-sized organic beet (stems included)

It was…interesting.

At some point, I think I may have likened the taste to that of the fresh waters of Lake Minnetonka. After time, though, the taste kind of…I don’t know…settled onto my palate (as much as late summer inland waters can, I suppose).

Thing is, my energy levels last night were incredible, but when it was time for bed, I knocked right out. When my iPhone’s alarm sounded at 4:45 this morning, I jumped out of bed, put on my PT uniform, and cranked up the juicer once more.

Dinner was a concoction ripped from a website. Breakfast was my own creation.

1) 3 medium-sized carrots
2) 3 fists of baby spinach
3) 1/2 unpeeled cucumber
4) 1/2 beet
5) 1 small green apple
6) and–wait for it–3 oz pure goji juice

By the time I got to the gym, I couldn’t wait to hit the treadmill. Totally energized, I did 15 min of 1 min speed intervals. The tread was practically smoking!! If that wasn’t enough, I spent another hour playing Ultimate football (I know…it’s not Ultimate if no one’s chucking a disc down field, but still a fun and demanding workout!).

So I think I’m sold on juicing. While it will likely never replace my carnivorous ways, it sure is an awesome way to supplement.

Pure octane!

Oh…and if you do try the beet recipe, don’t be surprised if your urine has a slight reddish tint to it. Sure it’s a little unnerving at first, but then it becomes a little amazing. Especially after 12 hours and more than a gallon of water hydration!

This experience was just too interesting not to share. I challenge you to try replacing one meal a day with fresh, organic vegetable and fruit juices for seven days. Share your juicing experiences here. I will, too!

Don’t forget your goals…

In the meantime, let’s all keep focused on those mid-term goals. Are you still progressing? Did you backslide on a goal? If so, what happened? Do you intend to get back on track? Do it! It’s never too late to make a fresh start. We’ll follow up more on these later next week.

Up next…

Monday’s focus will be on the effects of stress on gym performance and weight management. Still researching as promised.

Until then, have a super relaxing, fun, and SAFE weekend!

Warmest Regards,
~Aj

Photo courtesy of www.freedigitalphotos.net

About Aj

My name is Aj, and I am a fitness and healthy living enthusiast. Please check out my log at www.ajsfocusonfitness.com for more information. View all posts by Aj

Sound off!

