Hump Day & Full Disclosure

Hi, folks. Happy Hump Day!

With just three more days left, it’s time for a mid-term review of this week’s goals. Here is a list of the seven goals I set for myself on Monday. In truth, my “seven” started on Sunday. So be fair to yourself as you review your own progress.

My Short Seven:

  • Perform 20 – 30 min of interval cardio on at least 5 of 7 days
  • Find a new weight training program and stick to it (it’s time for a changeup)
  • Get at least 7 hours of sleep a night
  • Do one relaxing, enjoyable thing each day this week
  • Avoid alcohol and starchy foods
  • Do a solid 5-10 minute warm up before every weight training session
  • Find at least one new fitness podcast and one fitness blog to follow
  • So if you recall from Monday’s post, I’ve linked these seven short-term goals to seven long-term goals. If you accepted my challenge, you’ve done the same.

    Did you share your short list with anyone? It’s not too late if you haven’t. That’s important to your success, but don’t just take it from me. Check out what CrossFit guru Nichole DeHart of CrossFit Invictus had to say about it:

    Build a support group. It is crucial to have support when you are trying to achieve something that takes perseverance, dedication and determination. Your support group should be made up of people who have your best interest at heart. They can help motivate you and provide encouragement along your journey to success. They also provide needed accountability. Identify those who detract from your stated goal and try to eliminate their influence as much as possible.

    As promised…FULL DISCLOSURE:
    My Monday challenged me big time. Meetings took up most my day, and family duties kept me busy into the evening. I met all my nutrition goals, but I did not see the inside of the gym or log more miles into my Adidas miCoach app. I did, however, get a full 8 hours sleep.

    I awoke Tuesday recharged and ready to tackle my goals. With the exception of a business lunch of steamed rice and Kung Pow Beef (unavoidable), I did well on nutrition. Fitness-wise, I nailed it! I grabbed Steve Shaw’s Power Muscle Burn 5 Day Powerbuilding Split as my new gym routine. KILLED IT!

    This morning’s wakeup found me wondering how a bear attacked me in my sleep. At least, that’s how my chest and tris felt after yesterday’s “5 Day” bout. With about 7 hours of much-needed sleep ahead, I can rest easy knowing I knocked out some more goals today. Another “5 Day” down, and I played a board game with my family. Check and check.

    One last note…I started following a new fitness blog about one young lady’s body transformation journey. She liked my last post; I returned the favor. One more goal achieved! Now I just need to find a new fitness podcast (suggestions welcomed).

    Closing Comments:

    Keep your eyes on the prize. As you strive to meet these short-term goals, motivate yourself by solidifying that link to those bigger goals. Great work so far, everyone. Please feel free to share your goal quests here. We want to support you!

    Until Friday…

    Warmest Regards,
    ~Aj

    About Aj

    My name is Aj, and I am a fitness and healthy living enthusiast. Please check out my log at www.ajsfocusonfitness.com for more information. View all posts by Aj

    Sound off!

