7 in 7 — Succeed!

Image

It’s a new week filled with new potential. As I mentioned in my last Friday Wrap-up, I’ve decided to change things up a bit at Aj’s Focus on Fitness. Instead of hitting “Publish” six or seven times a week, I will only be doing that three times a week: Monday, Wednesday and Thursday.

Why the change, Aj?

Well, as I explained on Friday, it’s been almost a month since I started this blog. After 23 articles, it dawned on me that I needed more time each week to come up with some higher quality stuff. Those extra days in between posts should help me achieve that goal…among others.

How many goals will you score this week?

No. That’s not what I just asked my soccer-crazy teenager. That question is for all of us. Me too! How many fitness and health goals can I reach in the next seven days? This is the focus of today’s post: goal setting.

Unlike that As Seen on TV product that allows would-be master chefs to just “SET IT AND FORGET IT!”, I’m going to challenge you to set seven realistic and attainable, short-term goals pertaining to improving upon your current fitness and health profile. That’s one goal per day.

Cool! I am going to lose 20 lbs, become a vegan, buy that $4,000 home gym I’ve been wanting for years…

Like I said, these seven short-term goals need to be realistic and attainable. And I’ll add one more requirement: they need to do something to advance your efforts toward those bigger, long-term goals.

I don’t really have any long-term fitness and health goals, but can I still play?

Of course you can! What you may discover along the way is that your long-term goals turn out to be just bigger versions of some of the short-term goals you’ll set this week.

What do you mean by “realistic” and “attainable”? Aren’t they kind of the same thing?

Right you are—mostly. A realistic goal may be to lose 40lbs of body fat. That is also an attainable goal. But that goal is not specific enough to truly be judged as either realistic or attainable. You need to build in some parameters.

“I am going to lose 40lbs of body fat over the next 6 months.”

That is a very realistic and attainable goal.

“I am going to lose 40lbs of body fat over the next 2 months.”

Though it may actually be attainable, it’s not very realistic for most people (especially those interested in healthy fat loss).

So here’s what we’re going to do…

Me: I am going to share seven of my short-term goals this week and then tie them to some specific long-term goals. By the end of the week…full disclosure on both successes and failures.

You: Your challenge is to write down your seven short-term goals, link them to some long-term goals, and then share that list with another person or group of people. It doesn’t really matter who, but I highly recommend you choose an optimistic and generally fitness- and health-oriented personality. By the end of the week…follow up with that person/group to let them know how you did.

If you want to, I encourage you to share them right here on this blog. This blog is a safe place for that kind of thing, because the feedback you need will always be helpful and encouraging. If you’re taking the time to read up on fitness and health topics, I’m a fan!

The following numbered list hits on my short-term goals for this week. The second list correlates to each of the short-term goals as it ties them to long-term objectives.

My Short Seven:

  1. Perform 20 – 30 min of interval cardio on at least 5 of 7 days
  2. Find a new weight training program and stick to it (it’s time for a changeup)
  3. Get at least 7 hours of sleep a night
  4. Do one relaxing, enjoyable thing each day this week
  5. Avoid alcohol and starchy foods
  6. Do a solid 5-10 minute warm up before every weight training session
  7. Find at least one new fitness podcast and one fitness blog to follow

The Bigger Picture:

  1. I want my current 27 min 5K to be an easy 24 min by September
  2. I want my bench, squat and dead lift sets to go up by 20 lbs each in the next 30 days
  3. I want to get back on a regular sleep schedule by the end of the month
  4. I want to reduce stress for the long-term
  5. I want to drop my BMI by at 5% by September
  6. I want to improve my flexibility and reduce potential for injury
  7. I want to be working in the fitness industry full-time within the next 5-10 years

Human progress is neither automatic nor inevitable…Every step toward the goal of justice requires sacrifice, suffering, and struggle; the tireless exertions and passionate concern of dedicated individuals.

~ Martin Luther King, Jr.

I’m excited to discover what you and I can achieve this week. Let’s surprise ourselves! We’ll chat more on Wednesday. Until then…

Warmest Regards,

~Aj

About Aj

My name is Aj, and I am a fitness and healthy living enthusiast. Please check out my log at www.ajsfocusonfitness.com for more information. View all posts by Aj

Sound off!

