Supplementing Hope for Hard Work? — News flash!

Alright. Earlier last week I brushed over my use of weight training supplements, but I suggested it might come up later for discussion. Well, my friends, later is now.

As any serious athlete will tell you, various supplements really can make a difference in one’s physical (and even mental) performance; be it in a gym, on a bike, or in the ocean. What you likely won’t hear any of them say, though, is they got fit initially by supplementing alone.

Youth is wasted on the young…

I remember being about 30lbs overweight as a young 24 yr-old father of two…even as a budding member of the military services. This was before I embraced fitness as a lifestyle and instead viewed it as something those guys on magazine covers did for a living. I really wanted to be like them, but I didn’t believe it possible for me.

And then I found Diet Fuel–little magic pills of ephedrine that, when combined with a heavy cigarette habit, could really melt off the pounds! Of course, what the label didn’t mention (not sure if the stuff is still being sold) is that it turns users into raging jerks. Nice trade off…

I dropped 30lbs or so, and I never exercised. Not a good idea. The weight all came back over the next year and then some. What a waste! And a dangerous one, at that.

The Secret!

So I’m now almost 36. It took me a few years to figure out, but I finally learned the secret to supplementing. If you want to achieve and maintain a healthy body weight, sport a fine physique, and nurture your body’s most critical internal mechanisms, here is the secret formula for success:

– Eat right (3 small meals & 2 healthy snacks per day)
– Exercise (at least 3 times a week for at least 30 min per session)
– Drink plenty of water (at least eight (8) 8 oz glasses per day)
– Get a sufficient amount of sleep (at least 8 hrs per night)
– Vacation as often as possible (just don’t break the bank or lose your job)
– Contribute to your favorite charitable organization (give back!)
– Volunteer your time to help with something bigger than you (get out and help!)

That’s about it. Pretty basic.

What’s that? I didn’t mention supplements?

Exactly.

But don’t you use supplements?

Yep. Sometimes I do, but not to lose weight or with the hopes of making things easier. In fact, when I do supplement (say…with a pre-workout shake), I do so to push beyond growth plateaus.

Before you go drop 50 bucks to shed 30 pounds, consider dropping your daily calories, upping your physical activity, and doing something nice for someone else just for the sake of doing it.

We’ll cover supplements more in another post soon. For now, though, I just wanted to make it clear to everyone that supplements are for pushing past natural limits; not avoiding hard work. What’s more, not all supplements are created equal. Some are very dangerous and should not be ingested by most human beings.

Until next time…

Warmest Regards,
Aj

About Aj

My name is Aj, and I am a fitness and healthy living enthusiast. Please check out my log at www.ajsfocusonfitness.com for more information. View all posts by Aj

Sound off!

