Nutrition Week!

My focus this week is on nutrition. That puts a bit of needed pressure on me to perhaps try a bit harder that I might under other circumstances. It also brings up an interesting point.

When we take the time to write down or talk through our goals with someone else (in this case you, my reader), isn’t it interesting how we tend to try harder to live up to the standards that make those goals more achievable? Make this food for thought as we go through the week looking more closely at how we feed our active lifestyles.

With that, why don’t I share my nutrition goals for the week:

1. Eat at least 3.5 cups of veggies each day
2. Eat at least 2 cups of fruit each day (not fruit juice–unless I press it myself)
3. Eat at least 6.5 oz of proteins each day (primarily from lean cuts of meat, fish and poultry)
4. Limit my dairy (if any) to fat-free/low fat options *
5. Do not eat any grains *
6. Do not consume any sugary snacks
7. Do not consume any alcoholic beverages (yes…this includes wine and my favorite craft beers)
8. Drink at least 96 oz of H2O each day (that’s 12, 8 oz servings)
9. Do not consume any soda (diet or regular)
– Sweetener-free (sugar substitutes included) carbonated H2O is okay
– Energy drinks are out this week (with one exception we’ll discuss later)
10. Skip no meal, no matter how pressed for time.

The important thing to notice about this list of goals is that they are all realistic and easily achievable. As I teach my kids and expect of my troops, the need for a little self discipline should not be mistaken for difficult. As a wise individual once said, “Do, or do not. There is no try.”

Just kidding. Self discipline can be tough even for the most diehard fitness nuts out there. I struggle with it daily, and if you don’t, then a movie needs to be made about you.

Seriously, though, this week, find 10 realistic nutrition goals and try your hardest to meet them. Don’t beat yourself up if you miss a couple. If you meet none of your goals, take some time to figure out why.

I’ll share my own successes and failures this week (no holds barred). If I slip, you’ll know.

Here’s to another week of opportunities!

Aj

* This is singled out because, unlike other items, it goes against what the USDA recommends for daily intake. The US Government offers some valuable (and free) tools for planning a healthy lifestyle. For example, check out Health Finder. Here, you can learn more about general nutrition topics and even get access to some great diet and exercise planning tools. Just be sure to do your homework first. I think I’m pretty patriotic, but sometimes we need to trust but verify. Things that affect changes to your personal health and well being fall into that category. Same goes for anything you read here.

About Aj

My name is Aj, and I am a fitness and healthy living enthusiast. Please check out my log at www.ajsfocusonfitness.com for more information. View all posts by Aj

Sound off!

