Today’s Workout – Modified

6:00PM – So my workout for today has to be modified. Fighting the clock still. Original plan was for three miles using the Adidas miCoach app, but I really need to blow off some steam.

So I’ve decided to go for a hard leg and back workout followed up with some amount of cardio. Not sure what, yet, but probably no more than 15 – 20 min.

I’ve got my Adipure toe shoes on, dinner is almost on the table (I’ll eat later, but the kids have to eat), and I just mixed a cup of Blue Raz Hyper FX (didn’t get much sleep last night–will have to talk about supplements at some point, I suppose).

In sticking with the theme that seems to have emerged, something is better than nothing. Here goes!

UPDATE

Start: 6:25 PM

WARMUP:
Jump Rope – 5 min

LEG WORKOUT:
Barbell Squats – 10, 8, 6, 4, 4, 10
Squat Thrust – 12, 8, 8, 12
Leg Extension – 8, 8, 8
Leg Curl – 12, 10, 8, 6, 12*
Dead Lift – 6, 6, 5 (a little superstitious)
Calf Raises – 14, 14, 14

* With these 12->6->12 sets, no rest between 12 and 10 or between 6 and 12. Between 10 and 8, rest 30-45 sec. Between 8 and 6, rest 1-2 min (modified B4L setup).

BACK WORKOUT:
Lat Pulldown – 12, 10, 8, 6, 12
Seated Row – 12, 10, 8, 6, 12

BICEPS WORKOUT:
Standing Dumbbell Curls – 8, 8, 8 **
Laying Incline Reverse DBell Curls – 10, 10, 10

** Increased weight by 5lbs each time

POST WEIGHTS CARDIO:
Jump Rope – 6 min
Farmer’s Walk – 4 min (2X 45lb plates)

– These last are super sets of one another. 3 min rope, straight to 2 min walk, rest for 30 sec, and do it again one more time)

Finish: 7:35 PM

So you can see I nixed the traditional cardio in favor of a rather intense 10 min of high tempo activity (working fast-twitch leg muscles after the big leg workout).

I also did very little back and biceps work, because I went quite heavy on the dead lifts. That is one of the toughest compound movements available in a gym.

All of that was accomplished in just 70 min. No TV. No reading or other relaxing. Home from work, cook dinner, kiss the kids, out the door and back in time for some chess with my son and to hear my daughter’s latest song. Mejor que nada? Better than I’d hoped!

Aj

About Aj

My name is Aj, and I am a fitness and healthy living enthusiast. Please check out my log at www.ajsfocusonfitness.com for more information. View all posts by Aj

Sound off!

